Welcome to Sensible Shoppers!

Your one stop for great ideas! Don't miss a beat!

Follow us on Facebook, and Twitter!

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Back To School Deals: Shop Tax Free in Your State #backtoschool #taxfree #deals

ALABAMA: August 5-7
The tax-free savings applies to the following items: Clothing under $100; School supplies under $50; Books under $30; Computers/computer equipment under $750.
CONNECTICUT:  August 21-27
The following items will not be subject to state sales tax: Clothing under $300 per item & Shoes under $300 per item.
FLORIDA:  August 12-14
No sales tax shall be collected on the sale of clothing, wallets, or bags, including handbags, backpacks, fanny packs, and diaper bags, but excluding briefcases, suitcases, and other garment bags, having a sales price of $75 or less, or on sales of certain school supplies having a sales price of $15 or less.
GEORGIA:  None. Repealed.
Legislators have not passed the bills necessary to reinstate the sales tax holiday since 2009.
IOWA:  August 5-6
No sales tax, including local option sales tax, will be collected on sales of an article of clothing or footwear having a selling price less than $100.00.
LOUISIANA:  August 5-6
The Louisiana Sales Tax Holiday provides an exemption from state sales tax on the first $2,500 of the purchase price of most individual items of tangible personal property for non-business use.
MARYLAND: August 14-20
Qualifying apparel and footwear $100 or less are exempt from the Maryland 6% sales tax. Accessory items are not included.
MISSISSIPPI:  July 29-30
The items exempt from sales tax during the Sales Tax Holiday period are identical to those items exempted the prior two years. Clothing and footwear items, meant to be worn next to the body and cost less than $100 per item, are exempt from sales tax during this period.
MISSOURI:  August 5-7
Certain back-to-school purchases, such as clothing, school supplies, computers, and other items as defined by the statute, are exempt from sales tax for this time period only.
NEW MEXICO:  August 5-7
To qualify for the deduction, clothing or shoes must be priced at less than $100 per unit. The price limit for desktop, laptop or notebook computers is $1,000, and for related computer hardware it is $500.
Beginning on April 1, 2011, through March 31, 2012, the State of New Yorkwill not collect sales tax on clothing and footwear that costs less than $55 per item. Shoppers will automatically save 4% in state sales tax, as well as % in MCTD tax. Shoppers who live in New York City can save even more because the City of New York does not charge sales tax on clothing and shoes that cost less than $110 per item – a sales tax exemption that saves New York City residents an additional 4.5%.
Clothing, footwear, and school supplies of $100 or less per item; school instructional materials of $300 or less per item; sports and recreation equipment of $50 or less per item, computers of $3,500 or less per item; and computer supplies of $250 or less per item will be exempt.
OKLAHOMA:  August 5-7
The sales tax holiday exempts the sale of clothing and shoes priced at less than $100 from sales taxes.
During this time, the 6% state sales and use tax, and any applicable local sales and use tax, will not be imposed on clothing, clothing accessories (e.g., hats, scarves, hosiery, and handbags), footwear, school supplies (e.g., pens, pencils, paper, binders, notebooks, books, bookbags, lunchboxes, and calculators), computers, printers and printer supplies, computer software, and bath wash clothes, blankets, bed spreads, bed linens, sheet sets, comforter sets, bath towels, shower curtains, bath rugs and mats, pillows, and pillow cases.
TENNESSEE: August 5-7
Included in the tax-free holiday: clothing $100 or less; school supplies $100 or less; computers $1,500 or less.
TEXAS:  August 19-21
As in previous years, the law exempts most clothing and footwear priced under $100 from sales and use taxes, which could save shoppers about $8 on every $100 they spend. Backpacks under $100 and used by elementary and secondary students are also exempt.
VIRGINIA:  August 5-7
During this three-day period, purchases of certain school supplies, clothing and footwear will be exempt from the Virginia sales tax. Each eligible school supply item must be priced at $20 or less, and each eligible article of clothing and footwear must be priced at $100 or less.

See the entire list HERE




Blog Love

Beauty and Bedlam

Sensible Shoppers. Copyright 2008 All Rights Reserved Revolution Two Church theme by Brian Gardner Converted into Blogger Template by Bloganol dot com